Motions Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee October 27, 2010

Mission Statement

To create within the downtown area of Torrington a first class horticultural oasis in accordance with and strict adherence to the intent of the Coe Godfrey benefactors and the Coe Family Trust.

<u>Present</u>

Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee Members: Margaret Keywan, Susan Coe-Holbrook, Dr. Isadore Temkin, and Mary Zbell. Also present was guest Mark McEachern.

<u>Absent</u>

Marc Trivella and Frank Pennington

Motions

- On a motion by Susan Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Dr. Isadore Temkin, the Committee voted unanimously to nominate Frank Pennington as Chairman of the Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee.
- On a motion by Dr. Isadore Temkin, with a second by Susan Coe-Holbrook, the Committee voted unanimously to nominate Mary Zbell as Vice Chairman of the Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee.
- On a motion by Sue Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Mary Zbell, the Committee voted unanimously to nominate Margaret Keywan as Secretary of the Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee.
- On a motion by Margaret Keywan, with a second by Susan Coe-Holbrook, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the September 1, 2010 meeting.
- On a motion by Margaret Keywan, with a second by Susan Coe-Holbrook, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the October 6, 2010 meeting.
- On a motion by Susan Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Margaret Keywan, the Committee voted unanimously that they be provided with the estimates received and a professional opinion as to the condition of the Carriage House roof to determine the best course of action.
- On a motion by Margaret Keywan, with a second by Susan Coe-Holbrook, the Committee voted unanimously to agree to Mike Zaharek's offer of planting a new holiday tree.

- On a motion by Susan Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Dr. Isadore Temkin, the Committee voted unanimously that they see the quote for the remaining spruce tree work and determine if the Trust has not already paid for the removal of the spruce trees.
- On a motion by Dr. Isadore Temkin, with a second by Mary Zbell, the Committee voted unanimously to appoint Margaret Keywan and Susan Coe-Holbrook as a "Mission Statement and By-Law Committee" to research and present ideas to the Committee.
- On a motion by Susan Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Margaret Keywan, the Committee voted unanimously to hold their next meeting at City Hall on November 10, 2010 for discussion of research materials and by-laws. [No meeting will be held November 3, 2010.]
- On a motion by Dr. Isadore Temkin, with a second by Margaret Keywan, the Committee voted unanimously that the fall garden plans be sent back to Still River Gardens for a more detailed report as per Kim Barbieri's suggestions regarding color and designs.
- On a motion by Susan Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Margaret Keywan, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn their meeting at 5:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lynn Rategan Parks Department Secretary